My TOP 5 of Religious Horror by Emerian Rich

HorrorAddicts.net

I used to be the biggest religious horror fan of them all. Whether it be “chosen” children recruited by the church to ward off demons, evil priests doing dastardly deeds, or something more reality-based where the Catholic church was investigated for storing possible demonically-possessed objects, I was there. Although my fascination with this theme has wanned (mostly because I’ve heard and seen them all) there are some that I go back to again and again. Here are my TOP 5.

1. Lost Souls, 2000

Starring Winona Ryder and Ben Chapman, this movie is about a gal who assists in exorcisms and how she meets a guy who she believes is going to be a vessel for Satan in the future.  I know a lot of people don’t like this movie and it didn’t get good reviews from the movie critics, but I really love this movie and I watch…

View original post 386 more words

SEARCH: Author Spotlight on Emerian Rich

SEARCH Magazine

Author Spotlight on Emerian Rich

Name: Emerian Rich
Location: Concord, California

Give us a sense of what you do; what are some of
your creative endeavors?
I am a writer, artist, and voice actress. I love writing fiction most of all, but I’ve recently been involved in the creation of a Spooky Writer’s Planner. I’ve also created a coloring book and am working on an ABC book for spooky kids!

If you’re creative in your work life, how does that influence being creative at home or on hobbies? I don’t think creativity (or at least mine) can be contained. I love crocheting, doing diamond paintings, and most recently working with resin crafts. I rarely do the same thing again, so whatever the next craft craze is, I’m up for trying it. What inspires you? So much! My imagination is always cranking out new ideas. It could be the way the…

View original post 84 more words

New Book: From the Ashes by Sandra Saidak

From the Ashes by Sandra Saidak

In a dramatic departure from her popular prehistoric fiction, Sandra Saidak now offers up her first alternate history novel.

Two generations after Germany won World War II, a lonely college student named Adolf Goebbels wanders into a dusty museum and discovers books and artifacts of a dead race called “Jews”. Although a member of the Nazi elite, Adolf resents the oppression, fear, and isolation that are part of daily life in the Aryan “paradise” his grandparents helped build.

As he reads the forgotten books, and meets the outcasts who gather at the museum, Adolf discovers a purpose he has long been searching for—and danger he has never imagined.

Based on real-life Nazi plans for museums of dead races, this sprawling alternate history novel takes the reader from decadent Berlin, the capital of the Nazi world empire, across the conquered nations of Europe to uncover the startling secrets at the heart of the worldwide Reich.

Fans of Philip K. Dick’s The Man in the High Castle and Robert Harris’ Fatherland will want to read this new voice in alternate history.

Author’s Note:

The journey to this book began more than thirty years ago, when I watched a documentary on Simon Weisenthal which included a description of Himmler’s plan to create museums of dead races.  I immediately saw the possibilities for an alternate history story (at the time I naively believed it would be a short story!)

Soon after that, in another documentary, I learned that Joseph and Magda Goebbels poisoned their six daughters before killing themselves on the day Hitler died.  I knew at once that my protagonist had to be the grandson of Joseph Goebbels: propagandist, fanatic, the kind of man who could murder his own children rather than let them live in a world without Hitler.  (Admittedly later, when I learned more about the atrocities committed by Russian soldiers against German civilians, I began to see the Goebbels’ actions differently.  When my mother compared their actions to Masada, my perception did a complete turnabout.)

My first problem, however, was how to keep Adolf’s last name Goebbels, after the documentary had clearly stated that all six children were girls.  After agonizing with me for some time, my husband suddenly shouted: “If Joseph and Magda didn’t die, they could have had more children!”  Yes!  Perfect!  After all, the youngest was only four when she died in 1945.  So I invented Wilhelm Goebbels, who became Adolf’s father.

Then, after twelve years, several rewrites, and the invention of the internet, I learned that Goebbels actually had five daughters and one son.  (A member of my writing group thoughtfully sent me several web articles and a whole batch of pictures.)

After uttering a few words which will not be printed here, I sat down to begin the next rewrite.  It wasn’t that big a deal, I told myself.  Just hit Ctrl F and Ctrl H:  Find Wilhelm; replace with Helmut.  Except it was a big deal.  Bringing a nine-year-old boy back from the dead so I could turn him into a convenient villain became a very big deal to me.  Maybe that child would have grown into the tyrant he is in this novel.  But we’ll never know, because he never got the chance to grow into an adult of any kind.  In an effort to show respect for this little boy, and his sisters who do not appear in this book, I learned all I could of the real Helmut Goebbels, and incorporated all five sentences into this novel.  So little, and yet it speaks volumes.

Also included are stories people have told me over the years.  Within the pages of this fantasy of what might have been, I have incorporated all the reality I could, even the most obscure bits.  And if you are one of the people who told me one of those stories, my short “Acknowledgement” section is not nearly enough to express my thanks.

New Year Update 2021!

emz unplugged

Biters, Sweet Dreamers, Readers, and Listeners,

Last fall when I did the Fall Update, I promised myself to do the next update on a more regular time schedule. I mean, I actually wrote it in the calendar and everything! O.O WOW.

So, here we are. This is the NEW YEAR update! It’s 2021 and I know you are just like me, hoping this year brings happiness, healthiness, and… hopefully some outdoor outing like things!

This weekend, I’ll be embarking on my annual writer’s retreat only, it’s not getting in the car, driving up north, and staying in a hotel. This time, I’ll be barricading the office door and hiding out writing all weekend in the comfort (but not so luxurious) confines of my own home. I’m planning what to do. I mean, I have my desk and office chair, that’s nice… but what about those other areas I use to…

View original post 791 more words

Guest Blog: Get Organized the “Spooky” Way

Dave M. Strom: author of Holly Hansson, superheroine & writer

(Another guest blog post from horror author and FIEND, I mean FRIEND, Emerian Rich!) So, you’re a writer and you want to get organized? But how?

Maybe you’re new to all this and need a good marketing plan or maybe you’re not even that far. Maybe you just need some good character sheets and world building tools? Do you need a place to keep track of submissions, publications, or reprint dates? How about charting your research or what movies and tv shows you need to watch to inspire you in your current work in progress. Want to keep track of your “To Be Read” list or expenses you hope to claim on your taxes as a “real” writer?

Well, with the help of my friend and colleague, Loren Rhoads, I’ve put together the Spooky Writer’s Planner. This book is a godsend for all of us who have been trying…

View original post 384 more words

Planners, Planners, Everywhere and Not A One is Right!

Frighten Me!

Guest Blog by Emerian Rich

Picture1

Are you a planner fanatic like me? Omg… I so am!

Here is the scenario…

It’s November 1st and I’m thinking about how soon it will be the end of the year. An idea starts percolating… Perhaps this year I can find the right planner for my needs. One that fits my way of record keeping and also checks all the boxes for helping me learn, create, and be organized at the same time.

I see one online. It looks really good! I buy it.

When it comes, it’s so exciting! Yay! I’ve found the perfect planner.

Except, it’s not… It doesn’t have this or that. So, when I’m in the store later, I see a little one that has the list I’m looking for. Perhaps if I buy that and then paste it into the other one. Yes, that could work.

But then I…

View original post 400 more words

New Release: Spooky Writer’s Planner

Are you spooky?

Do you write horror, speculative fiction, dark fantasy, paranormal romance, or fairy tales?

Are you a spooky blogger, macabre non-fiction columnist, or haunt travel vlogger?

Are you ready to stop dreaming and be a writer?

Are you an author who wants to take your career to the next level?

PLANNER INCLUDES

13 months of monthly and weekly spreads

Monthly goal and recap sheets

Weekly check-ins and note pages

Writing challenges, planners, and instructions

Submissions, published works, and contacts trackers

Marketing, newsletter, and blog planners

Check-off sheets for website maintenance, social media profiles, and expenses

Fun sheets to generate writing ideas, track your favorite TV series, or to be read and watched lists.

Authors Loren Rhoads and Emerian Rich share the tricks they’ve learned over the course of a combined 50 years in publishing, from working with traditional New York publishers, small presses, and as indie publishers themselves.

AVAILABLE NOW PRINT or DIGITAL

PRINT: The Spooky Writer’s Planner is perfect-bound with a glossy cover, printed on high-quality 8.5 x 11-inch paper. Everything you need is included in one handy book you can grab and go! Have book, will travel!

DIGITAL: The quick-download version gives you a digital copy so you can print the pages you want, print multiples of those you think you’ll use the most, leave those you won’t use, and create your own Frankenstein’s Monster of a planner! These pages are designed to be printed on 8.5 x 11-inch paper. You can put them in a three-ring binder, bind them with disks, or a spiral, as you choose. You can print different sheets on different colors.

SEARCH: Holiday Dessert, English Trifle

SEARCH Magazine

English Trifle by Emerian Rich.

We’ve traced our Rich family herit-age all the way back to English royalty and beyond. The other side of the fam-ily got the castle, but we poor Ameri-cans have managed to keep the tradi-tional family desert recipe going.

Supposedly handed down from those living at Warwick Castle—and cousins to King Richard the Lionhearted—this recipe has been passed through the early American days as Quakers, to the Colora-do Rockies where my grandmother and grandfather finally settled, to our house in California. Although I am sure the recipe has changed over the years—each generation substituting what was easier or available—when we make this dish, we always feel closer to our roots.

If you read my article in the Fall 2020 issue about creating a “Dumb Supper” to honor your ancestors, you might be wondering what we serve to honor our ancestors. I’m happy to share the recipe…to…

View original post 8 more words