My First Story: Suzanne Madron

by Emerian Rich

My First Story
with author Suzanne Madron

Age first started writing: 17
Location of first writing:  I was living at home with my parents, a senior in high school in the mountains of Pennsylvania

Atmosphere:

I heard the song “Nemesis” by Shriekback for the first time, and images exploded in my head. Obviously they didn’t have much relation to the song itself, but the power of the song was extraordinary.

My first story/Basic plot:

In the original version of NEMESIS, Nemesis was originally conjured by a warlock for his body. The warlock was dying, and planned to take over the body of someone much younger. The same warlock had managed to survive as long as he had by imprisoning a vampire named Lamia and drinking her blood in hopes it would make him immortal.

What did you think of the story then? 

I thought it was the greatest thing ever. My teachers loved it, too, so I figured it must be good.

What do you think of the story now? 

The original draft makes me cringe when I read it now. It’s since been rewritten, stripped down to the bones and remade in a new image, re-edited, rewritten again and again, and again, and is now in its fourth incarnation.

How did the story help you on the road to writing? 

It started out as a trick to get me to use the laptop we had been given for AP English class. I didn’t like the thing, and refused to use it. I preferred pen and paper. My teacher told me to write a sentence. Anything. When she read it she told me to write out a paragraph. Then a page. Then five pages. By the end of the schoolyear, I had a novel.

Current work: 

For Sale or Rent: The house across the street seems to go on the market every few months, but this time nothing about the sale is normal, including the new owners. No sooner has the for sale sign come down and the neighborhood is thrown into a Lovecraftian nightmare and the only way to find out is to attend the house warming party.

Suzanne Madron was born in New York City and has lived up and down the east coast. Currently she resides on a house built over a Civil War battlefield in the wilds of Pennsylvania where she has been known to host some interesting Halloween parties. She has authored several novels and stories under various names including Suzi M, James Glass, and Xircon.

 

Next time, you’ll hear from author Kay Tracy.

