My First Story: Theresa Braun

by Emerian Rich

My First Story
with author Theresa Braun

Age first started writing: 12
Location of first writing: Child living at home in St. Paul, Minnesota

Atmosphere:

I’m pretty sure I was influenced by the movie Romancing the Stone, which is still one of my favorites. Also around that time I remember taking a family vacation on a deserted island, called Dead Man’s Key, in the Bahamas. The whole tropical island backdrop was something so exotic to me, since we were living in the Midwest. Also, someone who had been previously staying on the island had left behind a copy of the novel version of Romancing the Stone. And, since there were no electronic devices and no TV, I was quick to finish reading the book, loving it, of course.

My first story/Basic plot:

The female protagonist meets a cute guy on an airplane. The plane goes down and the two of them are stranded on an island in the middle of the ocean. There are cannibals after the couple and I’m not really sure if they escape or are captured. Since I write horror now, I’d like to think they had a grisly experience at the hands of these natives. If they did survive, it was by the skin of their teeth. Probably the adolescent me had them living happily ever after and getting married or something to that effect…but I can’t be sure.

What did you think of the story then? 

I really got into the story back then. In fact, I illustrated the whole thing, spending countless hours making my own cover and depicting the major events. I think I thought I was a better artist when I was that age. However, my teacher ended up telling me that my writing was also pretty good. That kind comment was always in the back of my mind.

What do you think of the story now? 

Looking back, the whole thing was rather unoriginal. Maybe even Gilligan’s Island can be blamed for this, since I watched lots of episodes. In the end, I think I just wanted to get lost in an adventure that I wouldn’t have minded having in real life. Danger. Cute guy. Happily ever after…

How did the story help you on the road to writing? 

That early experience didn’t have an immediate effect on my creative writing. Actually, I went down a long road exploring my artistic talents while drawing and painting. Although I journaled off and on, most of my writing was about literature. Actually, I really sucked at writing in high school, but I had a few teachers who pushed me. And, in college I read a lot of literature, spending my time analyzing them. Then, when I became an English teacher I got caught up in more of the same, while also teaching students to write. It hasn’t been until the last ten years or so that I decided to pursue fiction writing, taking it seriously. I spend much of my time now writing and studying the craft in order to improve with everything I create.

Current work: 

Dead Over Heels: Veronica lands a date with Sebastian, after countless hours of dead end online dating. On their first meeting, they encounter the ghosts of their past that threaten to tear them apart. The couple decides to face the evil that stands between them–but will they make it out alive?

Theresa Braun was born in St. Paul, Minnesota and has carried some of that hardiness with her to South Florida where she currently resides. She enjoys delving into creative writing, painting, photography and even bouts of ghost hunting. Traveling is one of her passions—the weirder the location, the better. She writes horror fiction and the occasional romance. Oh, and she likes to blog about topics in the horror genre. Her short stories are published in Under the Bed Magazine, in Hindered Souls, in the spring 2017 issue of The Horror Zine, and by Frith Books.

Next time, you’ll hear from author Ann Kate Suton.

