My First Story: Naching Kassa

by Emerian Rich

My First Story
with author Naching Kassa

Age first started writing: 8
Location of first writing: Washington, Child living at home.

Atmosphere: I loved monsters and the fairy tale, “Beauty and the Beast,” so I wrote my own version.
My first story/Basic plot: Henry is a red, hairy monster who wears a paper bag over his head. He thinks he is ugly and doesn’t want anyone to see him. He hides from everybody.

One day, Henry meets a beautiful blonde woman who thinks he’s nice. She convinces him to take off the paper bag.

Surprise, surprise! Henry is a cute monster who wears a flat straw hat and carries a cane. The girl thinks he is handsome and the story ends there.

I drew illustrations to go along with my story and I put it out for my 2nd grade classmates to read.

What did you think of the story then? I thought it was great. Of all my stories, it was the one I liked the most.
What do you think of the story now? I think it’s silly and cute. It wasn’t as great as I thought it was but it must’ve been better than the others. I can’t even remember them.
How did the story help you on the road to writing? My second grade teacher really liked it and all the stories I wrote. She encouraged me to share them with my classmates. (Last year, I found out she was sharing them with the teachers during her lunch break.) It was the first time I realized that people wanted to read what I wrote. That story gave me the desire and drive to be a writer.

Current work: 
Final Masquerade  The evening is ending and the guests are ready to leave but the final event of the night is just beginning~ the unmasking.  Welcome to Final Masquerade where no one is who they seem.

Naching T. Kassa is a wife, mother, and Horror Author. She’s created 15 short stories, two novellas, and co-created two children. She lives in Eastern Washington State with Dan Kassa, her husband and biggest supporter.

Naching is a member of the Horror Writers Association and a contributor to the Demonic Visions series.


Next time, you’ll hear from author Thersea Braun.

