Seven Things

by Emerian Rich

Author Loren Rhoads recently challenged me to write seven things about myself and being an author. They are as follows.

  1. I started reading as a young child to make money. My parents would give me a penny for every book I read in a year, up to 100. So, I read like crazy, knowing I could make $1.00 if I read 100 or more.1201141335d
  2. My handwriting has changed drastically during my life. As a child, we moved a lot and every school was teaching a different kind of writing. My second grade teacher asked my mother why my stick/ball printing was so horrid. Mom said, “She’s been taught printing, cursive, leftward-slant D’Nealian, had to write with her left hand (hand injury) and her last school taught 50% of her lessons in Spanish. Give her a few weeks and she’ll learn stick/ball printing if you want her to!” As an adult, people have commented on my strange writing…sometimes its proper cursive, sometimes it’s a mix, and sometimes I’ll throw in some weird character that doesn’t match with the rest of the font. This happens more frequently now that I have tendonitis, which makes my hand hurt when I write too much. It also causes handwriting experts to scratch their heads, but it is all a product of my mobile childhood.hand
  3. I read four to five books at a time and rarely buy books anymore because of my review job, my writer friends always wanting me to read their work, and writing my own stuff. If I do buy books, they are usually signed copies meant to support the author and I rarely read those.
  4. The first full novel I ever wrote was an 86-page, handwritten in pencil, YA book about child actors who become involved in a terrorist hijacking. I was eleven.
  5. I never knew I wanted to be an author until I was in my twenties. I aspired to be a singer, but despite that, I always wrote stories in my journals. Mostly dreams of what I wanted my life to become.
  6. My characters talk to me all the time, every day. There is not a day that goes by in which one of them is not nagging me to write.

    Emerian Rich, Heather Roulo, and Laurel Anne Hill at BayCon Writer’s Convention

  7. I really enjoy geeking out with my favorite author friends about books we’ve read or even movie plots and song lyrics that inspired us.

Want to share your 7? Email me at mailto:memzbox13@gmail.com.

