My Favorite Things: Comics

by Emerian Rich

Name: Dave M. Strom

Current obsession: Comics

 

comicbook-closetMy current obsession is writing. But I have had a comic book obsession for longer. For decades, I have bought (and keep buying) about 4 to 7 per week. Comic books are thin. I put them into boxes. Which they fill up. And pile up outside the boxes. Contrary to legend, they rarely gain in monetary value.

I am a writer snob, as in: “Hmph, you buy comic books for mere artwork? Bendy leggy girls showing off belly, boobs, and butt, often all three in the same pose? Bah!” I like well-written stories. As in Peter David’s Countdown: the grey Hulk (smart and wisecracks) is poisoned and has till sunup to find the antidote or die. J. Michael Straczynski: Aunt May discovers that Peter Parker is Spider-Man, and the two have a heart-to-heart talk. Alan Moore: Watchmen turned the superhero franchise upside down. Harvey Pekar: the life and times of a Cleveland file clerk. Neil Gaiman: Sandman.

harley-quinn-12-coverNot that the artwork is not wonderful. Amanda Conner does a lot of (ahem) good girl art, but she knows it is all in the face. To let a picture say a thousand words, check the cover of Harley Quinn #12.

I heart comic books. Maybe I should make some of my own.

P.S. Check out Ms. Marvel and The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (before Marvel’s dumb Battleword idea catches up with them).

me-harly-pgI, Dave M. Strom, am a technical writer, comic book geek, and budding novelist and short story writer. I specialize in bringing to life Super Holly Hansson, the Super(wo)man who’d rather be Clark Kent. She’s the most powerful superhero on Earth, and a writer.

http://davemstrom.wordpress.com

*********

Don’t miss the next installment of this
favorite things series when my writer friend
David Rix
will talk about his obsession.

Do you have something you collect or obsess about and would like to share with my readers? Feel free to comment below or if you’d like to do a post on your obsession, email me at emzbox13@gmail.com

