The Great Vampire Dispute ~ A.D. Vick’s Vamps

by Emerian Rich

I have a relatively new vampire writer to share with you today. A.D. is a horror writer and winner of HorrorAddicts.net‘s 2013 Writer’s Workshop. His story about spiders was produced by HorrorAddicts.net for Episode #99. A.D. is a promising new voice in horror and here he is to talk about his vamps.

A.D.’S VAMPS

Outfit post and Halloween 002Author name: A.D. Vick

What is the title of your series? Tales of Dark Romance and Horror is the name of my e book. It’s a collection of short stories and novelettes of which only four entries are vampire oriented. Of the four, only two are related. These include A Fall from Grace and its sequel, A Fall from Grace: Metamorphosis. These may or may not become part of a larger series.

How many books are currently for sale or listen? One eBook is currently for sale. I am offering these stories online both individually and as a full collection. Additionally, there are other pieces of fiction that I’m holding back for submission to other publications.

How many total in the series to date? Only one vampire appears in the Fall from Grace series so far, her name is Lady Andrea. If I continue with this series I will likely bring in more of her associates.

What is your vampire story about? Jessie Tucker is a promising second-year divinity student at the Good Shepherd Baptist College of Theological Studies, which is situated in a small southern city. In spite of his high grades and Zeal for the Lord, Jessie has a secret: He’s obsessed with a darkly mysterious woman who passes by his home every evening at night fall. When he travels a darkened road beyond the confines of the city to learn more about her, he gets more than he bargained for.

Where can readers buy, read, or listen to your vampire series? Currently, my vampire series and other dark offerings can be found, with descriptions of each at Http://www.romanceandhorror.com/

THE VAMPIRE MATRIX

Garlic Not effected Stake Can kill them.
Sunlight/ UV Cannot take sunlight Holy water/crosses No effect
Running water No effect Drowning No effect
Silver No effect Fire Temporarily disfigure
Coffin sleep a must? Yes Homeland dirt a must? No
Decapitation Will destroy vampire Do they need to be invited in? No
Do they sparkle? No Do they cast a shadow? Yes
Do they show up on film or video? Yes Do they have a reflection? Yes
Eye color change with hunger? May turn red Blood tears? Yes
Die if not fed? Eventually When killed, what is left? Bones
Eat solid food? No Create offspring by blood? Yes
Have sex? Feeding can be sexual Fertile? No
Immortal? Yes Enhanced strength? Yes
Enhanced senses? Yes Enhanced speed? Yes
Enhanced healing? Yes Flight? Yes, as a bat
Shapeshifting? Yes Psychic? Yes
Mind control? Yes Does their blood heal mortals? Yes

What are their fangs like? Extended canines.

Skin color when after rebirth: The same only more pale.

Attractiveness after rebirth: Yes. Often irresistible attractiveness

How do they feed? Generally through biting the neck. My vampire Angeline used a razor blade to gently cut her willing victim.

What does the mortal experience when fed on? It depends upon the mindset of the mortal. For some it’s an erotic experience. For others it’s terrifying.

What do they feed on? Human only? Evil souls only? They prefer to feed on humans but other mammals will do if necessary. My vampires differ. Lady Andrea from the A Fall from Grace series enjoys feeding on the story’s protagonist for mutually erotic encounters. Otherwise, she prefers to feed upon those she believes deserve it. These she will kill without hesitation. My male vampire from The Coven doesn’t discriminate.
Mira and Darkling

Do they kill? Or only drink? Do they have a conscience? Again, my vampires differ on this. Lady Andrea often kills, but may choose not to. She does have a conscience, but is most definitely a predator with a dark side.

Are there clans or a hierarchy? Yes, but I barely explored this theme as of yet.

How is a vamp created in your world? Blood exchange

What happens when they are changed? Confusion at first, but with enhanced senses and physical abilities. A blood lust quickly develops.

Is religion involved in you vamp world and what kind? My vampires are not religious but some humans appearing in the stories are very much so. I enjoy the play between a human victim falling back upon religion as it clashes with the blood lust, raw sexuality and dark personality of the vampire.

Is war or fighting a big theme in your books? One of my stories, which is entitled Rosalie, opens after a coup d’etat in the United States by right-wing religious fundamentalists. The story involves themes of government/religious oppression, witchcraft and forbidden seduction. There are no vampires in that story however.

How did vampires “start” in your world? Since I primarily write short stories, I really haven’t given this matter much thought or exploration.

What made vampires a reality in your world? While I haven’t explored this question, I’ll have to say that the existence of the supernatural and/or magick permeates all of my stories in one way or the other.

Who is your top vampire character. I’d have to say that I like Lady Andrea. As a character, I’ve spent more time with her and have developed her complex personality more than the others. She exists in modern times; but as I mentioned earlier, I haven’t really explored origins since I generally write short stories.

Who is your favorite vampire writer? I would have to say Anne Rice, but I also enjoy Nancy Kilpatrick and am currently reading a wonderful novel by Jeanne Kalogridis.

What music goes best with your series? What do you play to get in the mood for writing about these blood-thirsty fiends? Nothing puts me in the mood better than doom metal or melodic death/doom.

If you missed A.D.’s story on HorrorAddicts.net, I’ve put a play button here so you can listen.

Thank you, A.D., for sharing your vamps!

Check in next time when I’ll speak
with James Hoch about his Biters.

Until then, protect your neck and beware
of things that go bump in the night.

