What it’s like to be a writer’s best friend

by Emerian Rich

What is it like being a writer’s best friend?

I’ve had a few emails recently that have inspired a new blog series from me. Here’s what you have sent me:

“Emz, can you come over to my house? I’m really bored and I’d love to have you over for tea and biscuits.” ~ Monica from Southampton, UK

“I often wonder how your family feels about you recording all those voices. Do they think you are deranged or do they listen with rapt attention to the live version? I’d like to listen to you record. I bet it’s a hoot.” ~James from Montana, USA

“Just finished reading Night’s Knights last week and have listened to half of Dusk’s Warriors already this weekend. The way your imagination works blows my mind. I bet your friends love hearing your new story ideas. I bet lunch with you when you first think of an idea is an experience. Wish I was a fly on that wall.” Harry from Toronto, Canada

“Wish I knew you in real life, you seem like fun!” Susanne from Ohio, USA

Well, now you will have your chance to get a little glimpse into what it’s like to be my friend and I’ve invited some of my writer friends to share their lives as well. Over the next couple weeks, I will be posting interviews from friends and family of writers. Is it all it’s cracked up to be?

emzari

A day with a writer…
First up, I asked my best friend, Ariel, to answer questions about what it’s like to be my friend. We’ve known each other for over fifteen years and I count on her as a confidante and true friend. I think we get along so well because while we share a lot of the same interests, we are complete opposites. I am a dark, nostalgic devil to her blonde, pink-wearing angel.  How she puts up with my crazy Gemini personality mood swings I have no idea, but she was nice enough to answer a few questions while we made a trek around the city.

A holiday trek around San Francisco is our favorite occupation in early December. Stores are decorated with evergreen, shiny bulbs, and lights. The tourists are gone for the most part, but will grow in number as the holidays approach. For our trek, it was just us natives, out enjoying the sights and sounds of the holidays.

We had lunch downtown at our favorite Japanese place. They’ve changed their name many times, but we’ll always remember them as Mr. Hana. Next, we strolled by the holiday windows evaluating them against last years and voting on which was best. Then it was off to Chinatown for a look at scarves and some hot tea. Lastly, we headed to Japantown for shopping and dinner at our favorite restaurant there, Kui Shin Bo.

Ariel always teases me that in order to be my friend, you must pass a quiz with 80% accuracy, fill out a membership form, attend at least seven functions a year, and sign the “No Monkeys, Umbrellas, or Menthol Cough Drops” disclosure agreement. I don’t know if I’m that hard to know, but I do like paperwork, so she might be right. Now she has the opportunity to tell you what I am really like.

What it’s like to be the best friend of a writer.
From the perspective of: Ariel, Emerian’s best friend

How did you meet Emerian?

We worked at that same place and Emz was running a vampire roleplaying game. I asked if I could play. We started talking and found out we had a lot in common.

Why are you such good friends?

We both love to talk and are good listeners. We love vampire stories, planning games, problem solving, and we’re analytical. We both like writing and we’re open minded. We never judge each other. We both have big dreams and a love for art and architecture. Emz likes to plan things and I like to do things, so it works out great. You wouldn’t think so because we are polar opposites like light and dark but, we have a lot in common. Being a writer myself, we are always thinking about new stories or brainstorming new worlds. It keeps me in the “writing” world and inspires me.

When did you find out about her being a writer?

I heard Emz talking about her ‘zine and working out a deal with an artist.

Who are your favorite authors besides Emerian?

I like Anne Rice and Stephen King. Everyone thinks I’m in to romance, but I’m not. Emz is the romantic, not me.

144x212NKWhat is your favorite work of Emerian’s? Who is your favorite character?

Night’s Knights is my favorite work of Emz. I love Sim the bartender because of his personality and name. Martin is another favorite because he is dark and debonair. Even though he’s a geek, he’s the classic vampire type. I really like the underdog, the character who no one else likes or routes for, like Danny. I like Jespa, but I never go for the main characters. Martin is the most like me. I am his fan girl!

What did you do for Emerian that you would never do normally.

I volunteered to help Emz decorate a huge con. I would never do that if not for her.

What was the worst event you attended with Emerian?

When Emz read for the first time at a convention, the room was so hot, we were all dying. It was a small room without windows and people kept closing the door. The con didn’t advertise it well either.

What was the worst thing you had to do at an event?

When someone made me go pass out Emz postcards to the crowd. I was like… “Oh my God, do I have to do this just because I’m with her?” I hate approaching strangers.

What was the best event you attended with Emerian?

When Emz was on three panels in a row where she was reading. I could listen to people read all day. Sometimes at con between panels, we’ll sit outside in the hall and Emz will just read to me, I love that. I also liked when she got invited to a rock concert. We were at a table in the lobby and they treated us like royalty. It was like I was with a rock star.

What is your favorite place to go with Emerian?

We can go anywhere and just read or write together. We can find any place – like the tables above Embarcadero or the beach or one of the libraries. We might end up chatting the whole time, but we also chat about stories and what we’re working on.

emzari3

What do you like about Emerian being a writer?

When people approach us at a fair or event and they want to talk to Emz. They get so excited by her clothes, or makeup, or hair, or writing. It’s really fun to see them as excited about it as she is.

What is a dream you would like to see happen in the future for her?

I can’t wait until Night’s Knights gets made into a movie. I get to be at the premiere and I would have my photo taken with Julien who I think should be played by Alexander Skarsgard (Eric from True Blood).

What is the weirdest thing about being friends with Emerian?

She is always busy and if we go out, somehow it always turns into the career. She doesn’t even try and it happens. Someone is asking about her writing and she is digging out her cards.

Do you ever worry about her writing about you or your life?

No. I worry more if she is taking my picture, but she always asks first. I would be flattered if she wrote about me.

Have you ever read something that you thought was about you or inspired by you?

Yes. Ember, from Dusk’s Warriors. She told me she was inspired to write Ember because of me and that she wanted me to play her in the podcast. I was very flattered. I wish I was that awesome.

****

Thank you Ariel for sharing some insight with the fans about what it’s like to be a writer’s best friend. And, you ARE that awesome! 🙂

Readers, I hope this answers some of your questions about being in my crazy life. Stay tuned to this blog for more interviews with friends and family of writers.

~Emz

