Ten Books That Wowed Me in 2010

by Emerian Rich

Sweet Dreams by Emmy Z. Madrigal – My romance book series, Sweet Dreams, took off in a way I never thought it would. I have to thank those of you who convinced me to podcast it. I never thought so many people would want to hear my silly school girl dreams. It does seem to bring happiness and a sense of peace to those who listen or read and I’m pleased with that.For more info on the series, go to:
www.sweetdreamsnovel.com
DarkAge  by Kirk Warrington – My husband’s book, DarkAge, also came out in 2010. I am so proud of him! I’m also excited to see the characters that I have been reading for ages available to me in bound book format. They have become members of our family. People often ask me how it is to be married to a writer, being a writer myself. It doesn’t get too weird… except when we start talking about who might win in a character to character fight. What do you think? Jespa or Hades? Rob Malloy or Kev?
 Wicked Initiations by Jennifer Rahn – Jen is such a delightful woman. When she let me read an advance copy of this book, I was impressed by her ability to weave an interesting vampire tale I had never heard before. I’m proud my quote is on the cover. “Wicked Initiations is an original take on vampire mythology, plucked from a magical desert that will bewitch you and make you one of it’s own.”Way to go Jen!
Black Butler by Yana Toboso – The Black Butler manga series by Yana Toboso is the greatest I’ve read since Godchild! The awesomeness of Sebastian (the butler) mixed with style, class, and detailed pictures of pastries – what more could you want? The fact that there is some kind of evil secret between him and his master makes it even better. I really want to see a live action movie of this like they did with Death Note.
Travels by Jerry J. Davis – I had no idea what to expect with Jerry’s book. We’ve been friends for awhile, but I had never read any of his work until I picked up Travels. What an awesome read! End of the world technology take over stories are a dime a dozen these days, but Jerry tells such an original version!  I like it so much, I’m going to call to get the Travels channel hooked up at my house. Nah, don’t worry about the hypnotizing effects, I’m not too much of a tv watcher, but if you don’t hear from me for a few weeks, check on me please. Hhehee.
A Most Dreadful Earthquake by Dorothy Fowler – This book was a lucky find at a used bookstore. Most of you know I love letters and journals. This is an awesome collection of historical letters about our beloved city when it was shook by earthquake and fire in 1906. It also inspired me to write a short story titled Hammersmith House which will be featured on HorrorAddicts.net episode #54.
 Ivory by Steve Merrifield – When I first got my Kindle, I didn’t quite know what to do with it. I bought my book on it, and then stalled. What would be a book that I could download on this new technology that I would want to carry around and chance it getting erased (is what I thought). I plugged in “Free eBook” into Yahoo and quickly got transplanted into Smashwords. That’s where I found this gem hidden. Ivory was a free eBook, so I wasn’t scared to test it out on my brand new Kindle. The cover pulled me in right away. Once I started reading, I couldn’t put it down. Ivory keeps you guessing from the moment you start reading. His haunting main character will not allow you to forget about her. Months later, I still think about Ivory and wonder if I might see her one night, needing rescued.
 Dawn of the Dreadfuls by Steve Hockensmith – I’m sorry to say it, but I was unimpressed with Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. Yes, it was funish to read, and the cover is priceless, but after the initial wow of… “Geez my favorite Austen characters are invaded by zombies” it got old. There were no surprises. However, Dawn of the Dreadfuls is a different story. Although claiming by Quirk Books to be in the same series as PPZ, this is a NEW story of our favorite Bennett girls. I’ve always loved Mr. Bennett as a character and this book showcased him. It also had me cracking up with Jane and Lizzy fight training scenes and hilarious neighborhood zombie attacks. No, Mr. Darcy isn’t going to save the day in this one, but it’s a good read nonetheless.
 Jane Bites Back by Michael Thomas Ford – He was a genius to mix my two favorite topics (vampires and Jane Austen) together in one book. I loved reading about what Jane Austen might think of her books being sold without getting the royalties. I was also excited to find out who her mysterious vampire sire was. Very amusing – a light read – and it saved me from one of the worst days I’ve had in awhile. If a story can keep you engaged even though you are at your breaking point, it’s a keeper.
 Podthology: The Pod Complex Edited by Tim Reynolds – Talk about a monster cast. This puppy boasts some of the best podcasters around. I was proud to be a part of this project. I could name drop till you all got incredibly tired and clicked off this post, but I just want to mention that I am honored to be in the same book as my favorite podcaster, Mike Bennett. Mike is awesome, and if you haven’t tried him out, you need to go now and either buy Podthology to read his story Salvation, or got to mikebennettpodcast.com to listen to any of his works. I am a big fan of his horror shorts on Hall of Mirrors podcast and his vampire novel, Underwood and Flinch.
 Honorable Mention – Alice in the Country of Hearts by Quinrose – I would just not feel right if I didn’t mention this manga series. It is good fun for all of those of us who love Alice. This is a different take on wonderland though. The Mad Hatter is a mafia boss and the residents have clocks for hearts! Must read for any goth-loli or clock punk enthusiast.
