the desk of a writer 2

by Emerian Rich

deskdiagLast month, I posted a picture of my desk. to read that post, go here:
https://emzbox.wordpress.com/2009/07/05/the-desk-of-a-writer/

I got so many replies from other writers and fans, you wouldn’t believe. Here are some more author desks to appease the curious listeners!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~Jeremiah Donaldson~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
I don’t work at a desk. I have one, but don’t really use it. I have a laptop and once a month I may use the desk, but normally I’m at the kitchen table, in the living room, outside on the porch, or sitting on my bed.
Jeremiah ‘Jerry’ Donaldson
www.ephiroll.com
~*~*~*~*~Laurel Ann Hill~*~*~*~*~

DeskofLaurelAnneHill

http://www.laurelannehill.com

Although my own writing workspace is not nearly as tidy as Gail Carriger’s, it does possess a unique combination of odds and ends.  Check out this picture and see if you can locate the following:
1.  Ergonomic bed pillow used to adjust my husband’s 45-year-old swivel chair to fit my dimensions
2.  Postal meter manufactured when the first class postage rate was 25 cents for the first ounce
3.  Postal meter manufactured when the first class postage rate was 4 cents for the first ounce
4.  Cup of cold coffee
5.  Box of tax records
6.  Instructions for updating my Garmin G.P.S.
7.  Model of a single engine plane my husband sold 30 years ago.
8.  Vocabulary builder I used circa 1960
9.  Poster showing a space ship, a Barbie car, an astro-lizard and the working title of my parable, “Heroes Arise.”
10.  Telephone so ancient that Ma Bell used to rent it to me on a monthly basis.
11.  Stack of writing papers, bills and business cards
12.  Zip drives for a computer I no longer own.
13.  Screenie Cleanie that is far too dusty to use
14.  Wind-up computer angel
15.  Outdated church directories
16.  Postal receipt for an item mailed to my daughter in 1997
17.  Diorama of flowers used in lieu of a real bouquet at my wedding in 1975
18.  Guilded straw anchor given to me by my husband five years before our wedding.
19.  Address book used before there were area codes
20.  A thirty-year-old note from my Mom explaining the origin of her middle name.

~*~*~*~*~Heather Roulo~*~*~*~*~

HERouloDesk2009

Here’s the desk.  Lovely, eh? Well, let me explain, such as it is. 

As you can see, I use a laptop on a wireless network.  I use the shared family desktop for printing and memory-intensive projects (not pictured). Because of that, I have several memory cards as well as external storage devices for my audio files.  I use a wireless mouse and so many USB devices that I have a hub.  My Zune is also connected. My microphone and pop filter are off to the right of the picture. 

Paperwork, bills, and coupons make up the right corner, with a picture of a heart by my daughter on top.  My sons drew what I believe is meant to be a dinosaur and that’s stuck to the wall on the left out of picture.  There is a pen container complete with pens and, for no good reason, sidewalk chalk.  My children have also contributed a tinker toy, a Hungry Hippo marble, and a fine haze of Moon Sand that doesn’t come across in the picture.

The desk was built by my father-in-law back when kneeling chairs were the fashion, so I’ve placed a metal blotter over the desk opening that was meant to hold a keyboard.  This brought it to the right height and allowed me to have my mouse pad nearby.

