Time, time… who’s got the time!?

by Emerian Rich

I received an email recently from one of you asking how I find time to do everything I do. “I don’t!” was the first response that popped into my head. What I wanted to scream was, “I never have enough time!”

Yes, I have my vampire novel Night’s Knights coming out in October, the sequel (yet unfinished) to come out in podcast form shortly after, a sequel to my romance podcast Sweet Dreams launching the end of this month, my bi-weekly podcast HorrorAddicts.net back in full swing, weekly blog posts on dashPunk.com, and various guest spots on podcasts and radio shows. This is all squished into my “spare time” when I’m not working and raising my four-year-old son.

But I don’t do it alone. My family helps me out immensely and the support I receive from them as well as friends and fans is such that I can never repay.

The problem is… that I am the type of person that CAN’T be stagnant. I always have to be doing something. If I wasn’t writing and podcasting I’d be organizing social groups and rpg events. Believe it or not, as I’ve gotten older and became a mom, I have tamed my activities down to a small roar rather than an all-out scream fest.

So, far be it for me to act like the expert on time management, but since you asked, I will give you a few tips I have learned along the way.

  • Keep a calendar / datebook and check it daily.
  • Keep lists. Yes, even though my best friend makes fun of me and compares me to that little girl on Cat in the Hat, lists can save your life.
  • Start small. I had to learn this one the hard way. Are you planning a convention? Try one day first, then slowly add more. Trying to pull off a 3-day event when you’ve never done it in the first place… bad idea!
  • If you’re trying to work on a large project that feels like it will NEVER get done, break it into small parts and chip away at it slowly.
  • Ask for help / contributors / network. If you need help and someone you know can give it without much inconvenience to themselves, ASK! If you are new to the field, find a expert and ASK! If you want to make friends in the field and admire another’s work, ASK! If the person is rude to you, or blows you off, no harm no foul. You can just go make friends elsewhere.

And lastly…

  • Remember to take time to relax. This is one I constantly have to remind myself.
